Delegates from G20 members, guest countries and international organisations arrived in Dibrugarh on Thursday to participate in the G20 event to be held here on Friday. Dibrugarh deputy commissioner Biswajit Pegu who received the delegates at the Dibrugarh Airport on  Thursday said that till now 89 delegates have arrived for the meet by a Vistara chartered flight at 1.30pm. As many as 103 delegates have confirmed their participation and the rest of the delegates are expected to arrive by other flights. Upon their arrival at the airport the delegates were accorded a warm welcome with traditional gamochas and traditional dance performances by cultural groups. Later in the afternon, the delegates were taken for tea garden tour where they witnessed first hand the process of tea plucking, tea processing and tea tasting.

Apart from delegates from the G20 countries of Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Republic of Korea, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States and the European Union, delegates from nine guest countries namely Bangladesh, Egypt, Mauritius, Netherlands, Nigeria, Oman, Singapore, Spain and the United Arab Emirates (UAE) will participate in the G20 event that will be held in Dibrugarh.

On Friday, the inaugural session (session-I) will begin at 8.45am with the opening remark by India Chair (Dr S Chandrasekhar, Secretary, Department of Science & Technology). The Session-II on Agriculture: Challenges and Opportunities will be held from 9.35am to 10.35am. The Session-III will be held between 11am to 12pm on the topic Industry towards De-carbonisation. The Session-IV on Bio-Energy willl be held between 12pm to 1pm. The Session-V on Bio-resource Management will be held from 2pm to 3pm while the concluding session will be held at 3.15pm.

Show quoted text


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here