Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma on Monday conferred awards to fourteen eminent personalities during the Bishnu Rabha Divas – 2022 that was centrally observed at the Chowkidinghee playground in Dibrugarh. The awards constituted by the State Directorate of Cultural Affairs included three national awards and eleven state awards. The national award carried a cash prize of Rs 3 lakh while the state awards carried a cash prize of Rs 2 lakh beside citations.

The national level Kalicharan Brahma Award – 2021 was presented to prominent researcher of folk culture from Nagaland, former Director of Women Studies Centre, Nagaland University and former director of Higher Education Dr Anungla Aier. The national level Krishna Kanta Handique Award – 2021 was conferred to eminent academician and researcher Dr Naren Kalita. Kalita had penned several well known books like “Descriptive Catalogue of Manuscripts”, “The Kathabhagavata Paintings of Punia Sattra”, “Manuscripts Paintings from Kamrupa Anusandhan Samiti” etc. Similarly, the 

Azan Pir Award – 2021was conferred to noted folklorist Dr Amalendu Bhattacharya. Bhattacharya ia known for his works like “Survey of Manuscripts in Assam”, “Folklore and Oral Tradition” etc.

Among the state awards, the Bishnu Rabha Award – 2022 was presented to cine artiste Chandrakamal Gogoi and danseuse Sharodi Saikia. The Geeti Kobi Parvati Prasad Baruah Award – 2021 was presented to cine artiste Mridula Baruah, Amalprabha Das Award – 2021 to writer Ela Borgohain and the Chandraprabha Saikiani Award – 2021 to social activist Lilavati Kushre. Hailing from Maharashtra, Kushre has made Assam her home since almost 60 years now and has contributed immensely towards furthering women education. 

The Mamoni Raisom Goswami Award – 2021 was conferred to litterateur Phanindra Kumar Deb Choudhury, Syed Abdul Malik Award – 2021 to litterateur Chhabilal Upadhyay, Ahmed Ali Baskandi Award – 2021 to artiste Syed Sadullah, Ganesh Gogoi Award – 2021 to poet Bongshi Bora, Swargadeo Sarbananda Singha Award – 2021 to social activist Hemanta Gohain and Sonit Konwar Gajen Baruah Award – 2021 to danseuse Nani Baruah.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here