The Election Commission of India (ECI) has stuck to the delimitation draft for Assam barring the renaming of a Parliament and 19 Assembly constituencies in its final order published on August 11. The Moran Assembly Constituency in Dibrugarh district has been renamed as Khowang while Chabua Assembly Constituency will be known as Chabua – Lahowal.
The Assembly constituencies whose nomenclatures have been revised are Mankachar (now Birsing Jarua), South Salmara (Mankachar), Manikpur (Srijangram), Bhowanipur (Bhowanipur-Sorbhog), Rupshi (Pakabetbari), Boko (Boko-Chaygaon), Hajo (Hajo-Sualkuchi), Gobardhana (Manas), Batadraba (Dhing), Nagaon (Nagaon-Batadraba), Sootea (Nadaur), Chabua (Chabua-Lahowal), Moran (Khowang), Dima Hasao (Haflong), Algapur (Algapur-Katlicherra), Badarpur (Karimganj North), North Karimganj (Karimganj South), South Karimganj (Patharkandi), and Ratabari (Ram Krishna Nagar).

The Manas Assembly seat is named after Manas National Park and Tiger Reserve. The Kaliabor Lok Sabha seat, currently represented by Gaurav Gogoi of Congress, had been renamed as Kaziranga. The name of the Darrang Lok Sabha seat, which used to be Mangaldoi, has been revised to Darrang-Udalguri.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here